Election Results 2019: Neck and neck race between Rahul Gandhi and Smriti Irani in Amethi

The big day of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results are here. One of the key fights in these elections has been in Amethi where Congress president Rahul Gandhi is pitted against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Smriti Irani.

As per current trends, Smriti Irani is leading in Amethi pushing Rahul Gandhi to the second position. Smriti Irani has taken a lead by around 2,000 votes in Amethi.

Amethi will be the litmus test for Rahul Gandhi, who apart from contesting from the family pocketborough in Uttar Pradesh, is also contesting from a second seat in Wayanad in Kerala. While Wayanad may be an easy win for Rahul Gandhi, he faces a tough contest in Amethi.

The exit poll shows that though the Congress-led alliance is the most popular alliance in Amethi, but Congress’s individual position is not very bright. The party faces a tough challenge from the BJP in terms of popularity.

BJP leader Smriti Irani may have lost the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, but neither Rahul Gandhi’s record in Amethi nor the Congress appear to have deterred the Union Minister whose election campaigning was relentless this year.

Rahul Gandhi’s winning margin over Smriti Irani was  over 1 lakh votes. He had won 2009 election by around 2.70 lakh votes.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi made his electoral debut from the crucial Amethi seat in 2004 when Sonia Gandhi moved to Rae Bareli. It was formerly represented by Indira Gandhi.

Rahul Gandhi won his first election from Amethi with over 66 per cent votes. The vote share increased to nearly 72 per cent in 2009. The 2014 Lok Sabha polls, however, saw both the vote share and winning margin reducing drastically.

In 2014, Rahul Gandhi’s vote share was 46.71 per cent, which was the lowest for a Congress candidate from the Gandhi family in Amethi Lok Sabha constituency
Rahul Gandhi’s winning margin over Smriti Irani was little over 1 lakh votes.

As Rahul Gandhi leads in Amethi, it now remains to be seen if the Congress president can emerge as the winner in this tough contest in Amethi, against Smriti Irani .

Amethi voted in the fifth phase on May 6.

Leave a Reply