Independent MLA H Nagesh, 16 Other Ministers Take Oath as BSY Expands Cabinet After 3 Weeks

New Delhi: Over three weeks after Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa was sworn in following the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) government, the state finally got a cabinet with 17 ministers.

Yediyurappa, who faced opposition ire for delaying the appointment of ministers — especially in the wake of floods — had proposed the names of 17 MLAs, including independent lawmaker H Nagesh and former chief minister Jagadish Shettar, to Governor Vajubhai Vala.

The chief minister ran a “one-man” cabinet for over 20 days and decided to appoint more ministers after the go-ahead from BJP chief Amit Shah. “The cabinet expansion will take place between 10.30 and 11.30am tomorrow (Tuesday). I have already written a letter to the Governor in this regard. I have asked the Chief Secretary to make all arrangements,” he had said on Monday.


Leave a Reply