North States Election 2019 Vote Counting LIVE Results and Updates: Narendra Modi seeks blessings of Margdarshak Mandal after historic win.


  • 11:17 (IST)


    Narendra Modi seeks blessings of Margdarshak Mandal after historic win

    After securing an unassailable lead over the UPA — the closest consolidated opponent NDA had in elections — Narendra Modi visited LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, BJP veteran and founding fathers who are now relegated to the sidelines owing to their advancing age. The Congress had criticised BJP for ‘unceremoniously’ sidelining the veteran leaders by not giving them a Lok Sabha ticket. Modi had put in an undeclared age bar of 75 within party rank and file to promote new blood in the BJP.

    11:03 (IST)

    How many seats did SP win in UP in 2019? 

    The Samajwadi Party managed to win just five seats of the 37 it contested in Uttar Pradesh, a state that sends 80 members to the Lok Sabha. The party had managed to win just five seats in the previous Lok Sabha elections too — its lowest-ever tally — but in theory, its performance may have slightly improved. This is because, the party fielded its candidates on all 80 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 and only five of them managed to win. This time around, it had entered an alliance with the BSP and RLD and it only fielded candidates in 37 seats of which, five won.

    The winners include party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and veteran party leader Azam Khan.


    10:51 (IST)

    Himachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Election Results Latest Updates

    Over 33,000 voters opted for NOTA in Himachal Pradesh

    Over 33,000 none of the above (NOTA) votes were polled in Himachal Pradesh, where the ruling BJP swept the Lok Sabha elections winning all four seats in the state.
    The saffron party won Mandi, Shimla, Hamirpur and Kangra with record margins of about four lakh votes in each of the constituencies. As many as 33,008 voters chose the NOTA option.In this way, 0.87 per cent voters opted for NOTA out of the total 38,01, 793 votes polled in the state on 19 May, an election official said.

    10:49 (IST)

    How much margin did Rahul Gandhi lose Amethi polls with? 

    Rahul Gandhi lost the family bastion Amethi with a margin of 55,20 votes or 11.76 percent. As the news of Irani’s victory trickled in, the BJP camp burst into celebration with the supporters chanting slogans and dancing to the beats of thumping drums.

    The BJP workers came out on the streets and hailed the BJP leader whom they credit with ending the rule of one dynasty in this Congress stronghold.
    As the evening descended, the main market in Gauriganj was the epicentre of action where BJP flags were being waved at every corner and enthusiastic supporters moved about distributing ladoos. Around the Manishi Mahila Mahavidyala and Indira Gandhi PG college, jubilant BJP supporters zoomed about on motorcycles, but on the roadside Congress supporters could be seen huddled together, discussing Congress president Rahul Gandhi who conceded defeat.

    10:25 (IST)

    Jammu and Kashmir Lok Sabha Election Results Latest Updates

    In Jammu and Kashmir’s Baramulla, more votes polled in favour of NOTA than BJP, JKNPP, few Independents 

    About 8000 voters opted for the none of the above (NOTA) button in elections to the Baramulla Parliamentary constituency of Jammu and Kashmir which was won by National Conference’s Mohammad Akbar Lone.

    In Baramulla constituency of north Kashmir, 7999 voters pressed the NOTA button, an election official said. He said NOTA secured 1.79 per cent of the total votes polled in the constituency. The NOTA secured more votes than four of the nine candidates who were in the fray in the constituency, including the BJP and JKNPP candidates who polled 1.34 and 0.95 percent polls respectively.

Leave a Reply